Posted by: tbodesigns | December 17, 2007

On the Frontlines

We sat down with Lance Corporal Podushko a United States Marine who has been in the service for four years now to talk about his experience serving our country in the most controversial war since Vietnam. LCPL Podushko served in Iraq for approximately 7 months – his tour was called “Operation Iraqi Freedom” during August 2004 through March 2005. He was only 21 years old when he served (celebrating his 22nd birthday there), he is now 24 years old, married and expecting his first child this October! 

How many years have you been a US Marine?

I have been a Marine for four years and three months.

 

What inspired you sign up for the USMC?

My grandfather was a Colonel in the Soviet Army and my uncle is currently a Lieutenant Colonel in the Russian Army. I also believe that every man should go through the military experience – it really does turn a boy into a man, especially in the Marine Corps.

 

How was boot camp?

It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be physically, but the worst part was all of the sergeants yelling in your face.

 

When you got the call that you were being activated to go overseas, what was your first thought? What were you doing? Who where you with?

I was in shock because I was in the middle of joking around, playing cards and having a good time with my girlfriend’s family, then I got a call from my unit with the news. I fell into a state of shock, it was unexpected. I didn’t have any thoughts; I was numb and couldn’t think straight.

 

What was your Military Specialty there?

My MOS was Motor T, which was driving huge trucks in a convoy.

 

How did you handle driving in such dangerous conditions for all those long hours?

We didn’t have a choice, we had to just ignore the danger and take on the mission with a positive outlook because you never know what to expect, so we kept the spirit up by playing music in the trucks. We always made sure to have a bunch of snacks for the road and we tried to catch a few hours of sleep during the day, if we got the opportunity.

 

What was the worst thing you witnessed/experienced there?

When we were preparing to hit the road, we got attacked my mortars (small but deadly rockets) and one of them exploded not too far from me and my buddies, fortunately no one got hurt but it scared the sh*t out of us. Mortars were shot into our base at least 2-3 times a day.

 

Did anyone you know get hurt or killed? How did you and everyone else feel about it?

We had an accident on base where one of our trucks malfunctioned and ended up crushing one of our guys, it was difficult for all of us especially since we only had 2 more weeks left before heading home; he was only 20 years old. We also had an incident in the middle of our tour there where 3 marines (one from our base and two from another base) were walking and the terrorists sent mortars into our base and two of those marines were killed and the third one was badly injured – those attacks constantly kept us all on edge.

 

What helped you get through the day?

Letters from my family and girlfriend, the calls back home, the care package I received always made my day. Watching movies with my buddies – keeping busy with small activities, it made us feel as though we were on a base in the states, instead of Iraq.

 

What did you miss most when you were away from home?

My girlfriend and her kisses, my family and a good home cooked meal.

 

How difficult was it to be away from your loved ones during the holiday season?

It was very difficult, I couldn’t be with my loved ones, I called my girlfriend and she, my family and friends were in the middle of a big Christmas party and I was stuck in the middle of a dessert during a war – it wasn’t that great, made me miss them more.

 

The closer it got to finally leave Iraq, what were your feelings over all? Where you scared, happy, unsure?

I was EXCITED to be on my way home, I couldn’t wait to be home.

 

When you got home – how did you feel?

I was relieved and also a unsure of what was going to happen – since while I was there, everything back home changed so much. Time was at a stand still for me there – while everyone back home kept moving on. Although I was looking forward to a cruise I had purchased for me and my girlfriend to go on, to reconnect – I guess it worked out because now she is my wife!

 

Did you suffer any PTSD?

Nope.

 

Was it an easy transition for you to go back to civilian life?

For me it was pretty easy to adjust, my girlfriend, family and friends helped me a lot. They made it easy for me. My girlfriend gave me a lot of patience and understanding.

 

What are you up to these days?

Currently I am working as a security guard and I am in the process of becoming a New York City Police Officer. I’m happily married and am expecting my first child this October! One more month!! I CAN NOT WAIT!!!!!!!!!

SUBSCRIBER SUBMITTED QUESTIONS:

 

How did it feel risking your life for a war that was created to solely benefit Bush and his oil-hungry cronies instead of fighting Al-Qaeda and finding Bin Laden? Submitted by Vivian

I couldn’t look at it in any other way outside of the fact that I was ordered to do my job, something I had enlisted willingly to do, it was not in my authority to question anyone, I did was I was requested to do. I wasn’t too happy about it, no one wants to go to war, but I hope that at least the citizens of this country feel safer sleeping at night.

 

What was the general sentiment amongst the soldiers knowing that the majority of Americans realize what the war is about and no longer support it?  I would be angry as all heck just like the Vietnam Vets. Submitted by Vivian

A lot of the guys still believe in what the president was saying and acting on. We couldn’t really pay attention to what the citizens were saying and expressing, everyone has a belief and an opinion, we as military men can not agree or disagree with anything because it will not change anything. We had to serve, whether we agreed or disagreed with the cause – it’s our duty.  

 

What was going through your mind when you were traveling for the first time to Iraq? Were you nervous? Excited? Submitted by Amy

I was very nervous and a little scared of the unknown, I didn’t know what to expect. We didn’t know if our training was sufficient enough for the situation going on there – if we were prepared enough for the tasks at hand.

 

Could you sleep when you were there? Submitted by Amy

I could sleep, we were so tired all the time that you just drop onto the bed and pass out.

How did being in the Iraq war affect you mentally, being that you were so young having to experience the war? Submitted by Merieta

Mentally – I wasn’t affected, I’m proud of the fact that I’ve been to war and lived to talk about it. I joined the Marines even before I was a citizen of the United States, which is more then most Americans (born here) would do for their country.


Leave a comment

Categories